Craigslist

If you love to see used products on advertisements websites with sections devoted to for sale, items wanted, and services, the website, craigslist, is the best for you. Also, you have to be careful with scammers. (I will write the real scammers I have met later on)

Local vs. World

In this post, I would just show you why craigslist is the best for selling. Craigslist is the website where people can post anything they want to sell locally and ask what they want. Posting for most classifieds categories on craigslist is free, and it’s also free to browse and respond to ads. You do not need to pay a service fee when you sell the product. On the other hand, like similar websites for worldwide like mercari or ebay, you have to pay the service fee. Here is, for example, Mercari policy for selling your product.

“Listing an item is always free on Mercari. The selling fee is just 10% of the listing price. This includes the cost of processing payment from the buyer.”

When it comes to a small money sales, it does not matter in my opinion; however, if you are trying to sell an expensive product like $1000 vintage musical instrument, the service fee will be $100. It sounds ridiculous for me that selling your stuff, but the benefit is more people from the world can see your post, so you might sell your product higher than the average.

My Advice

First, trying to sell on your local areas, which means craigslist, facebook marketplace, or offerup. You might want to look up which websites are suitable for you here. If you could not get a good offer, then you should move on the bigger marketplace such as mercari, ebay, or amazon. I hope your sales goes well.

In near future, I’ll go over real scammers I have met with when I was trying to sell my guitar. Stay tuned please.

Leave a comment